President Kiir signs four Bills into law

President Salva Kiir Mayardit on Wednesday assent four bills into law.

Apart from the constitution making process, the bills were amendments made in the previous laws to meet the provisions of  the 2018 Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) which demanded for the reform of all the laws.

The bills were then passed by the Transitional National Legislative Assembly and handed to the President  assent them into law as required by the Transitional Constitution of South Sudan.

The four Bills that became laws on 21 Dec 2022 includes
1 The constitution Making Process Act 2022,
2 The Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan 2011 (Amendment) No.11 Act, 2022.
3 The National Police Service, (Amendment) Act 2022.
4 The National Wildlife Service, (Amendment) Act 2022.

In a statement to the presidential press, the Speaker of the National Legislative Assembly, Jemma Nunu Kumba said as part of the implementation of peace agreement, the parliament has submitted other five new acts to the President to be assented into law most likely before the end of the year 2022 to meet the reform stipulated in the Peace agreement.

The five new Bills awaiting assent on the president table are:

Security, Anti- Corruption, Referendum, Public Finance, and Accountability bills respectively.

The August house has also rectified five Conventions, and International Treaties on economic and political act.

They Protocol to the African Charter on Human and People’s Rights on the rights of women in Africa, International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural rights as well as International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, ICCPR.

Others include the Paris Agreement and the International Covenant on the rights of persons with disabilities, 2006.