Lobong places Nadapal border issue on President Kiir’s table

The Governor of Eastern Equatoria State, Louis Lobong Lojore has discussed the Kenyan border issue with President Salva Kiir on Wednesday after days of fight between Toposa and Turkana youth of Kenya over Nadapal Border disputes.

On 31st Jan, 2023, three pick-ups full of Kenyan Defense forces reportedly encroached into South Sudan through Nakodo border in Kapoeta East. This prompted the border communities to stage a peaceful protest calling for government intervention on the encroachment.

Lobong visited and met the communities at the border in Kapoeta East County on 4th February and told them to leave the border issues in the hands of the president citing that the borders’ issues are solemnly the responsibility of the national government and not the state nor the communities.

In his statement to the presidential Press on Wednesday after briefing the President, governor lobong said “a Joint Border Committee has been established to engage Kenyan authorities and the local communities to resolve border tension between the two countries,”

Lobong also sent his message to the communities along the border to work together and ensure that they share their resources amicably without violence.

While officiating the swearing in ceremony of the newly appointed government officials on the same day, President Kiir urged the new Senior Presidential Envoy on Special Programs, Dr. Benjamin Bol Mel Chol to strengthen bilateral relations between South Sudan and neighboring countries specially the Nadapal border issue with Kenya.

“Our relations are tarnished around the world, as you take up your new assignment, go and normalize our relations with Kenya especially the recent tension along the border corridor and also improve our diplomatic relations with other Countries. I have stated many times that I will never take the country back to war again,” Kiir emphasized

Nadapal in Kapoeta East fall under the Ilemi Triangle – a disputed territory, which is claimed by South Sudan, Kenya, and Ethiopia. Following numerous efforts to demarcate the area over the last 100 years, Ethiopia, Kenya, and Sudan have all made conflicting de jure and de facto claims.